Latest Tutorials| Questions and Answers|Ask Questions?|Site Map

Home Java Jdk7 Data Types in Java 7

Related Tutorials


Share on Google+Share on Google+

Data Types in Java 7

In this section we will discuss Java 7 Data Types.

Data Types in Java 7

In this section we will discuss Java 7 Data Types.

Data Types :

Data types are the keywords stored in the reserved memory which we use to define type of variables.
There are two types of data types defined in java 7 -

  • Primitive data types
  • Reference data types

Primitive Data Types:

Primitive data types is already defined and represented by the reserved keyword. Value of primitive type don't share state with another primitive values. Java 7 supports eight primitive data types -

  1. byte
  2. short
  3. int
  4. long
  5. float
  6. double
  7. boolean
  8. char

Reference data types :

Non-primitive data types are also called reference data types. It is handled by reference. These refer to objects and arrays. it is created by defining constructor of a classes. You can use it to access the objects.

Literals :

When you initialize variable of primitive type, do not use new keyword. we built into the language. Literal is source code representation of a fixed value. It represents directly to your code without requiring computation. literals are used to assign to any primitive type variable.

Example :

short value = 40;
 boolean test = true;


If you enjoyed this post then why not add us on Google+? Add us to your Circles

Liked it!  Share this Tutorial

Follow us on Twitter, or add us on Facebook or Google Plus to keep you updated with the recent trends of Java and other open source platforms.

Posted on: December 18, 2012

Related Tutorials

Discuss: Data Types in Java 7  

Post your Comment

Your Name (*) :
Your Email :
Subject (*):
Your Comment (*):
  Reload Image